Markham Baptist Church

Worship

Theme:

LIFE OPENINGS “Keep your eyes open for God, watch for his works; be alert for signs of his presence.” Psalm 105:4

This Week's Topic

Sunday, May 28

Youth Group

Guest Speaker Madison Davis

Sunday, May 21

The Job of The Holy Spirit

John 14:15-21

Sunday, May 14

Mother's Day

Guest Speaker Pastor Bill Norman

Sunday, May 7

The Riddle of Faith

John 10:1-10

Sunday, April 30

Caution, Divided Highway Ahead

Luke 24:13-35

Sunday, April 23

Do You Want a Peace?

John 20:10-23

Sunday, April 16

Don't Stop Now!

Matthew 28:1-10

Easter Sunday

Friday, April 14

Good Friday

John 18:19

Sunday, April 9

Which House is Yours?

Matthew 21:1-11

Lent 6  Palm Sunday

Sunday, April 5

Good Grief and Bad Theology

John 11:1-45

Lent 5

Sunday, March 26

On Further Investigation...

John 9:1-41

Lent 4

Sunday, March 19

How Deep Is Your Well?

John 4:5-26, 4:27-42

Lent 3

Sunday, March 12

A True Old Salt

Matthew 5:13-20

Lent 2

Sunday, March 5

Choices In The Middle of Nowhere

Matthew 4:1-11

Lent 1

Sunday, February 26

Images of Jesus

Matthew 17:1-9

Transfiguration Sunday.

Sunday, February 19

Robbing the Power of Violence

Matthew 5:38-48

A new response strategy.

Sunday, February 12

But, the Heart of the Matter

Matthew 5:21-37

Jesus gets to the heart of the law.

Sunday, February 5

A True Old Salt

Matthew 5:13-20

The stories we have to tell.

Sunday, January 29

This Blessed Life

Micah 6:1-8; Matthew 5:1-12

Why we live the way we do.

Sunday, January 22

Right About Being Right

1 Corinthians 1:10-18

Arguments and allegiances.

Sunday, January 15

Grow-Rich

Isaiah 49:1-7; 1 Corinthians 1:1-9

Enriched by Christ in every way.

Sunday, January 8

Side-Ways

Isaiah 42:1-9; Acts 10:34-43

No favourites.

Sunday, January 1

New Beginnings

Revelation 21:1-6; Isaiah 55:1-5; John 1:1-5

Sunday, December 25

Advent - Christ

Christmas morning service

Saturday, December 24

Carols by Candlelight

Christmas Eve service

Sunday, December 18

Advent 4 - Love

Children’s Christmas Presentation

Sunday, December 11

Advent 3 - Joy Comes with the Morning

Psalm 30:5

Sunday, December 4

Advent 2 – Paths to Peace

Isaiah 11:1-10, Matthew 3:1-12

Sunday, November 27

Advent 1 - Hope

Isaiah 2:1-5, Matthew 24:36-44

Sunday, November 20

Creation's Lord

Genesis 1:1-5, John 1:1-5

Sunday, November 13

ANNIVERSARY SUNDAY

Genesis 17:1-8, Hebrews 11:8-12, 12:1-2

Sunday, November 6

Battles Worth Fighting

Psalm 9:11-20, Ephesians 6:10:20

Sunday, October 30

Nailing Down Our Actions

Matthew 23:1-12; 2 Thessalonians 1:1-4,11-12

Sunday, October 23

The Hardest Prayer

Psalm 51:1-12; Luke 18:9-14

Sunday, October 16

Persistance in Prayer for Peace

Jeremiah 31: 27 - 34, Luke 18: 1 - 8

Speaker: Pastor John Torrance

Sunday, October 9 – Thanksgiving Sunday

Thank You for Giving Me the Morning

Psalm 100; Matthew 6:25-34

Sunday, October 2

Guest Speaker

Sunday, September 25

Staying Alert When You're Tired

Sermon Topics for

Sunday, September 4

How Are We Any Different?

Isaiah 65:17-25, 2 Thessalonians 3:6-13

Sunday, September 11

Life Openings

Psalm 105:4

“Keep your eyes open for God, watch for his works; be alert for signs of his presence.”

Sunday, September 18

Watch It!

Sunday, September 25

Staying Alert When You're Tired

Sunday, October 2

Guest Speaker

Sunday, October 9 – Thanksgiving Sunday

Thank You for Giving Me the Morning

Psalm 100; Matthew 6:25-34

Sunday, October 16

Persistance in Prayer for Peace

Jeremiah 31: 27 - 34, Luke 18: 1 - 8

Speaker: Pastor John Torrance

Sunday, October 23

The Hardest Prayer

Psalm 51:1-12; Luke 18:9-14

Sunday, October 30

Nailing Down Our Actions

Matthew 23:1-12; 2 Thessalonians 1:1-4,11-12

Sunday, November 6

Battles Worth Fighting

Psalm 9:11-20, Ephesians 6:10:20

Sunday, November 13

ANNIVERSARY SUNDAY

Genesis 17:1-8, Hebrews 11:8-12, 12:1-2

Sunday, November 20

Creation's Lord

Genesis 1:1-5, John 1:1-5

Sunday, November 27

Advent 1 - Hope

Isaiah 2:1-5, Matthew 24:36-44

Sunday, December 4

Advent 2 – Paths to Peace

Isaiah 11:1-10, Matthew 3:1-12

Sunday, December 11

Advent 3 - Joy Comes with the Morning

Psalm 30:5

Sunday, December 18

Advent 4 - Love

Children’s Christmas Presentation

Saturday, December 24

Carols by Candlelight

Christmas Eve service

Sunday, December 25

Advent - Christ

Christmas morning service

Sunday, January 1

New Beginnings

Revelation 21:1-6; Isaiah 55:1-5; John 1:1-5

Sunday, January 8

Side-Ways

Isaiah 42:1-9; Acts 10:34-43

No favourites.

Sunday, January 15

Grow-Rich

Isaiah 49:1-7; 1 Corinthians 1:1-9

Enriched by Christ in every way.

Sunday, January 22

Right About Being Right

1 Corinthians 1:10-18

Arguments and allegiances.

Sunday, January 29

This Blessed Life

Micah 6:1-8; Matthew 5:1-12

Why we live the way we do.

Sunday, February 5

A True Old Salt

Matthew 5:13-20

The stories we have to tell.

Sunday, February 12

But, the Heart of the Matter

Matthew 5:21-37

Jesus gets to the heart of the law.

Sunday, February 19

Robbing the Power of Violence

Matthew 5:38-48

A new response strategy.

Sunday, February 26

Images of Jesus

Matthew 17:1-9

Transfiguration Sunday.

Sunday, March 5

Choices In The Middle of Nowhere

Matthew 4:1-11

Lent 1

Sunday, March 12

A True Old Salt

Matthew 5:13-20

Lent 2

Sunday, March 19

How Deep Is Your Well?

John 4:5-26, 4:27-42

Lent 3

Sunday, March 26

On Further Investigation...

John 9:1-41

Lent 4

Sunday, April 5

Good Grief and Bad Theology

John 11:1-45

Lent 5

Sunday, April 9

Which House is Yours?

Matthew 21:1-11

Lent 6  Palm Sunday

Friday, April 14

Good Friday

John 18:19

Sunday, April 16

Don't Stop Now!

Matthew 28:1-10

Easter Sunday

Sunday, April 23

Do You Want a Peace?

John 20:10-23

Sunday, April 30

Caution, Divided Highway Ahead

Luke 24:13-35

Sunday, May 7

The Riddle of Faith

John 10:1-10